US Open 2022 – top seeds, prize money, past winners, when and where to watch – SportsMediaz

The 2022 edition of the US Open is scheduled to be held between August 29 and September 11. Beginning every year on the last Monday of August and continuing for two weeks, US Open is the fourth and final Grand Slam of the year.

Prize Money

The total prize money for 2022 US Open is USD 60.1 million, which is more than the USD 57.5 million in 2021.

The prize money for title winners has slightly increased. Both, the men’s singles and women’s singles champion, will get USD 2.6 million each, as compared to USD 2.5 million from last year.

Top 10 seeds in men’s singles Ranking Top 10 seeds in women’s singles Ranking
Daniil Medvedev (Russia) 1 Iga Swiatek (Poland) 1
Rafael Nadal (Spain) 3 Anett Kontaveit (Estonia) 2
Carlos Alcaraz (Spain) 4 Maria Sakkari (Greece) 3
Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece) 5 Paula Badosa (Spain) 4
Casper Ruud (Norway) 7 Ons Jabeur (Tunisia) 5
Felix Auger-Aliassime (Canada) 8 Aryna Sabalenka (Belarus) 6
Cameron Norrie (Great Britain) 9 Simona Halep (Romania) 7
Hubert Hurkacz (Poland) 10 Jessica Pegula (USA) 8
Andrey Rublev (Russia) 11 Garbine Muguruza (Spain) 9
Taylor Fritz (USA) 12 Daria Kasatkina (Russia) 10

Where to watch?

In India, viewers will be able to watch the live telecast of the US Open on the Sony Sports Network and stream the same live on Sony Liv.


The governing body of the US Open is the United States Tennis Association (USTA), which was founded as the U.S. National Lawn Tennis Association in 1881. That same year, the first men’s singles championship was held at the Newport Casino in Newport, Rhode Island where only those who were members of the club could participate. Richard Sears won the first ever US Open title. Six years later, the first women’s singles championship was held at the Philadelphia Cricket Club in Pennsylvania which was won by Ellen Hansell.

The championship took place in various places such as Mountain Station, New Jersey; Boston Massachusetts; and Forest Hills, New York before finally settling on USTA National Tennis Center at Flushing Meadows in Queens, New York in 1978. The tennis center’s name was changed to USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in 2006 to honour the four-time US Open women’s singles champion and one of the pioneers of the game.

As a result of being played in multiple places since its beginning, the US Open has been played on grass (1881-1974), clay (1975-1977) and hard court (1978-present). Interestingly, Jimmy Connors has the distinction of being the only man to win the US Open on all three surfaces while Chris Evert is the only woman to have won the Major on two surfaces.

Main court of the US Open is the Arthur Ashe Stadium which was completed in 1997. With a seat capacity of 23,200, it is the largest tennis-specific stadium in the world.

Oldest and youngest winners

Youngest Men’s Singles Champion – Pete Sampras (1990) at the age of 19 years and 28 days

Youngest Women’s Singles Champion – Tracy Austin (1979) at the age of 16 years, 8 months and 28 days

Oldest Men’s Singles Champion – Ken Rosewall (1970) at the age of 35 years, 10 months and 11 days

Oldest Women’s Singles Champion – Flavia Pennetta (2015) at the age of 33 years, 6 months and 18 days

Famous Firsts for the US Open

  • ⦿
    First Grand Slam to award equal prize money to men’s and women’s singles champion
  • ⦿
    First Grand Slam to make the concept of Shot Clock to keep a check on the time taken by players between points applicable
  • ⦿
    Althea Gibson became the first African-American to compete at the US Open in 1950

Most successful players at the US Open (Open Era)

Men’s Singles

Roger Federer: 5 titles (2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008)

Pete Sampras: 5 titles (1990, 1993, 1995, 1996, 2002)

Jimmy Connors: 5 titles (1974, 1976, 1978, 1982, 1983)

Women’s Singles

Chris Evert: 6 titles (1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1982)

Serena Williams: 6 titles (1999, 2002, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014)

Steffi Graf: 5 titles (1988, 1989, 1993, 1995, 1996)

Leave a Comment