Rohit Sharma Ruled Out of Edgbaston Test, Jasprit Bumrah Named Skipper – SportsMediaz

As expected, Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the fifth and only Test match against England beginning July 1. In his absence, Jasprit Bumrah will be leading the side, hence becoming the first Indian bowler to captain the national team after Kapil Dev. Dev, who won the World Cup for India in 1983, last led the team in 1987. So, after a gap of 35 years, a bowler will lead India.

It came to this as Rohit had tested positive a couple of days ago. And his RT-PCR Test again returned positive for a second time on Wednesday, ruling him out of the Test match for sure.

“Rohit is out of this Test match, starting July 1, as his RT-PCR test has come positive again. He is still in isolation. Jasprit Bumrah, who is one of the vice-captains in absence of KL Rahul, will lead the team,” a senior BCCI official told PTI on conditions of anonymity.

Bumrah will be the 36th cricketer to lead India in the longest-format since the country first played in 1932. The Gujarat pacer, who has 123 wickets in 29 Tests, has grown into world’s best fast bowlers.

The 28-year-old had been named the vice captain of Indian ODI side when they toured South Africa earlier this year. Back then he had said that he is ready to take up the new job, moreover, the Chairman of selectors Chetan Sharma had already said that he is being groomed as a future leader.

Who Will Open For India?

With the experienced Rohit out of the playing eleven, seasoned Cheteshwar Pujara has a good chance of opening the batting with young Shubman Gill.

The source said that Mayank Agarwal has just been brought as “cover” and is not in the scheme of things as far featuring in the playing eleven is concerned.

“Mayank is here just as cover. It is likely to be Pujara-Gill combination that is going to open the batting. There is an outside chance for Hanuma Vihari to open as he has done the job in a stop-gap arrangement in Australia during the 2018 series. But chances of Pujara opening are way more,” he said.

It is understood that the specialist batters in the set-up will be Pujara, Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Vihari and Rishabh Pant.

The only other debatable matter is whether to play a fourth fast bowling all-rounder in Shardul Thakur or a second spinner in Ravichandran Ashwin alongside Ravindra Jadeja.

Along with Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami select themselves automatically.

Squad for Ireland series will play first T20I vs England

With the first Test scheduled to finish on July 5 and the first T20I scheduled for July 7 in Southampton, the selection committee has decided that the star players will be given a three-day recovery period before they are picked from the second game.

India are scheduled to clash with England three T20Is and as many ODIs.

“The squad that played T20I series in Ireland will remain in the first T20I and then from second T20I, all the stars (Rohit, if fit, Kohli, Bumrah, Pant, Jadeja) will make a comeback,” the source added.

“Once, they are well rested, all of them will be a part of the regular white ball side but most of the players in Ireland will remain till the end of T20I series.”

(With PTI Inputs)

Get all the latest updates on Cricket News, Cricket Photos, Cricket Videos and Cricket Scores here

Leave a Comment