India vs Sri Lanka 1st Test: India Registers A Thumping Victory

Jadeja was declared Man of the Match for his decided unbeaten 175 off 228 conveyances.

In the Sri Lanka visit through India, the hosts won the primary Test of the two-match series overwhelmingly by 222 runs. A flawless all-round presentation from Ravindra Jadeja assisted India with getting the primary apparatus of the reciprocal series easily.

The Indian captain, Rohit Sharma (29), won the throw and selected to bat. The contribute Mohali was a batting pitch and the hosts took advantage of the circumstances to the fullest before the home group. Every one of the main eight batsmen in the line-up got to a twofold digit score and contributed reasonably. Rishabh Pant (96) counter-assaulted the Lankans and kept the game fascinating. The southpaw’s innings reached a conclusion when he was only four runs shy of his century. The MVP with the bat for the Indian group was Ravindra Jadeja, who crushed a mammoth unbeaten 175 subsequent to strolling in to bat at number seven with 228 on the board. Jadeja sewed century-stand organizations each with Ravichandran Ashwin (61), who himself scored 50 years and Mohammed Shami. The Rohit-drove Indian group announced at 574 in the principal innings.

Very much like the batting, the host group was similarly prevailing with the ball. India took 18 overs to stash their first wicket yet later began taking wickets at normal spans and wrecked Sri Lanka’s batting line-up. The hosts forced follow-on in the wake of packaging out the guests for 174. The invulnerable Jadeja enrolled a five-wicket pull in the subsequent innings.

In the third innings, the result was nothing unique as this time the Lankans figured out how to score four a greater number of runs than their first innings’ aggregate. The twist team of Ashwin and Jadeja didn’t allow the travelers to settle at the wrinkle and stashed eight wickets together.

Jadeja was the pick among the bowlers too for snatching nine wickets in the match. Ashwin had six wickets to his name while Shami had three. Jasprit Bumrah had two scalps in the match.

For the Lankans, Vishwa Fernando, Lasith Embuldeniya and Suranga Lakmal got two wickets each. Lahiru Kumara and Dhananjaya de Silva snatched one wicket each.

Jadeja was decreed Man of the Match for his determined unbeaten 175 off 228 conveyances with 17 fours and three sixes.


India 1st inn: 574/8 d, Overs 129.2, Ravindra Jadeja (175*), Rishabh Pant (96), Suranga Lakmal (2/90)

Sri Lanka 1st inn: 174/10, Overs 65, Pathum Nissanka (61*), Charith Asalanka (29), Ravindra Jadeja (5/41)

Sri Lanka 2nd inn: 178/10, Overs 60, Niroshan Dickwell (51*), Dhananjaya de Silva (30), Ravindra Jadeja (4/46)

Leave a Comment